Anti-Vegan Thoughts About Bacon

9 Jan

This week’s anti-vegan thoughts also happen to be anti-kosher…….. BACON!

Many people cannot fathom eating a plant-based diet because they could never give up bacon.

Bacon is has become so popular in recent years you can now:

Dress Your Wounds With Bacon

Store Important Electronic Data With Bacon

Tell Time With Bacon

And Even Pucker Up For A Juicy Kiss Tasting Just Like Bacon

I will not be joining you in these endeavours though, so instead of buying me a shirt that reads I Heart Bacon, please get me a shirt with the whole pig on it instead.

In the meantime, while I am patiently awaiting my new apparel, I will make something that is almost as good as bacon and reminds me of the Bacos that were stashed in the cupboard of the kosher home I grew up in. What kid grows up in a kosher home that has keeps artificial bacon flavored bits on hand??

I’ll tell you, my childhood was anything but normal.

Now in case you want to take the easy way out and just by Bacos, please take a look at the ingredient list.

http://www.generalmills.com/ColorBoxImage.aspx?ImageId={F52B3FC3-726B-4892-A768-A381090D9519}&Width=760&Height=421

If you don’t know how to read an ingredient list or interpret nutritional facts here are some tips (I will also point out the ingredient in this product that I am specifically speaking of).

  1. If you don’t know what it is, it probably isn’t food (Defatted Soy Flour and Tocopherol)
  2. Stay away from anything hydrogenated, hydrogenation is a chemical process and eating hydrogenated food is very bad for your body and should ALWAYS be avoided (Partially Hydrogenated Soybean Oil)
  3. Only eat foods that contain real ingredients (Artificial Flavor)
  4. Do not eat products that list sugar as an ingredient, sugar is like a drug and is added unnecessarily to a number of foods that you wouldn’t even imagine have sugar in them. Eliminating refined sugar from your diet is, in my opinion, the single most healthful way you can change your diet and your body. (Sugar)
  5. Artificial coloring agents have been reported as having a number of unsavory effects on adults and children, stay away from them, they are not real foods (Caramel Color and Red 40)

Now that we’ve gotten that out of the way we can step into the kitchen and make some delicious REAL food (please don’t judge me for the title of this recipe).

Fakin’ Bakin’ Bits (adapted from Vegan Diner)

1/4 tsp salt

2 Tbsp liquid smoke

1 cup dried TVP or TSP granules

3 Tbsp canola or vegetable oil

In a saucepan add 7/8 cup water and salt, bring to a boil. Remove from heat. Add liquid smoke and mix well.

Stir in TVP. Cover and let sit for 10 minutes.

Heat oil in saucepan. Add reconstituted TVP and cook to desired crispness (about 10 minutes). Cool completely before serving.

The reason I made the Fakin’ Bakin’ Bits in the first place was so I could make some soup. I love soup! Sadly, I do not know where I got this recipe from so I am unable to give credit (shame on me), if it looks familiar to you please let me know so I can update this page and give credit where credit is due. By the way, this soup is AWESOME!

Loaded Baked Potato Soup

2 medium russet potatoes

2 cups broth

1 cup non-dairy milk

1/4 tsp liquid smoke

1/8 tsp sea salt

1/4 tsp pepper

1/2 cup non-dairy cheddar cheese

1/4 cup + 2 Tbsp non-dairy sour cream

3 Tbsp chives

2 Tbsp Fakin’ Bakin’ Bits

Peel potatoes and microwave on high for 2-1/2 minutes. Flip potato over and microwave for another 2-1/2 minutes. Allow potatoes to cool then dice.

Combine potatoes, broth, milk, liquid smoke, salt and pepper. Bring to a boil then reduce to a simmer. Cover and simmer for 5 minutes.

Puree all of the mixture.

Remove soup from heat and stir in 1/4 cup cheese, sour cream, and 1-1/2 Tbsp chives.

Garnish with remaining ingredients.

Note: I don’t particularly enjoy non-dairy cheese so I only added 1/4 cup to the soup and did not garnish with additional cheese.  Also, I found 1/4 cup of sour cream to be plenty.

I hope you enjoy making this recipe for your family.

Happy & Healthy Eating!

Leave a Reply

