When You Eat Right You Feel Right

19 Feb

I have good news and bad news.

The good news is that I’ve been staying away from eggs and cheese like a champ! Since February 1st I have only slipped once – at breakfast today, actually, with some great friends. Let me tell you, the blueberry pancakes were to die for!

The bad news is that I’ve been indulging in Dunkin’ Donuts coffee (with skim & splenda) and sweets way to much. My body is angry with me and I am feeling run down.

All is not lost though, I have utilized today to get back on track. While doing laundry I decided to prep a ton of food to get me through the week.

It is also time to break out the food journal again, to help hold me accountable and continue moving towards my goals.

Breakfast

Problem: I’ve been relying on cold cereal way too often which is never a good idea for me, I am always left feeling hungry, and there is unnecessary sugar in it which negatively impacts my weight loss goals.

Solution: I’ve prepped some brown rice to make Breakfast Rice Pudding. It may sound weird to eat brown rice for breakfast but it is so yummy. I may also prep some overnight steel-cut oats if I have extra time, I’ve never tried it before but they are super easy and hopefully tasty.

Note: this is not my photograph or the recipe I use for my breakfast rice pudding

Morning Snack

Problem: I haven’t been prepared and therefore walk out the door empty-handed. This poses a bigger problem on days when I’ve eaten cold cereal because I am ravenous by 9am.

Solution: By eating a whole grain rich breakfast my need for a big snack diminishes, I will rely on bananas or small servings of homemade energy bar to get me through until lunch time, but only if I am hungry.

Tonight I hope to replicate my favorite of all energy bars! Wish me luck 🙂

Lunch

This is one area that is never a problem, there are always leftovers in the fridge from the previous nights dinner  – of course I plan it that way.

But just to spice things up a bit this week I made four layered salads from a great blog Oh She Glows.

Afternoon Snack

Problem: Lack of preparation has caused issues in the afternoon too, lately I’ve been coming home to a peanut butter and jelly sandwich and snacking while I prepare dinner. Don’t get me wrong, a PB&J once in a while is delicious, but eating one everyday can sabotage weight loss plans and leave you as hungry as if you ate cold cereal.

Solution: This will depend on if I’ve had a morning snack – a banana or energy bar will work for me in the afternoon if I didn’t have it earlier or I can take some sweet potato chips or cut up veggies and  hummus.

Dinner

You know this isn’t a problem 🙂 I make dinner from scratch almost every night and am able to stick to my weekly menus by planning simple dishes, stocking up on ingredients, and using my time wisely when I get home from work.

But because I had some extra time today I prepared some side dishes that I know will keep in the fridge a few days (provided I can keep Jordan away… very unlikely).

Kale Salad

Southwest Pasta Salad

So for the rest of the evening I think I’ll make sloppy joes and while they are cooking I’ll throw some sweet potatoes in the oven to cook off and toss together that energy bar I mentioned.

You’d be surprised how much food you can prepare while you are preparing dinner… especially if you don’t have kids running around!

~Happy & Healthy Eating

Leave a Reply

