I QUIT!

6 Mar

Just over a year ago I started working out and eating right in an effort to lose weight.  Now most people will tell me that I don’t need to lose weight and that is probably true, but my  reality is this.

I think I look like this naked…

 

I’d rather look like this naked

 

See the difference?

So how can I look more like Fitness Model Amanda Adams and less like the Stay Puff Marshmallow?

I need to commit to my goals… seriously commit.

 

I know this and I try to eat very healthy but I am still not getting the results that I want. So what is the problem?

Sugar! Can you believe it? Wheatgrass & Sassafras is a blog  about eating healthy, but here I am admitting I am addicted to sugar.

How embarrassing 😦

But seriously, I found it easier to quit smoking than to quit sugar… can you believe it?! 

It’s time to take control and stop succumbing to this addiction.  My primary goal is to create a leaner figure but I know from experience that by eliminating sugar from my diet I will feel more energized, in good spirits, and my skin will clear up quickly – BONUS!

So here is my game plan for my personalized

NO SUGAR CHALLENGE!!!

Cue The Price Is Right music! Why? Because that’s what is in my head when I say NO SUGAR CHALLENGE

  1. Eliminate refined sugar from my diet.
  2. Replace ordinary sugar with maple syrup, SUCANAT, turbinado sugar, brown rice syrup, blackstrap molasses, unrefined dark  brown sugar, mashed bananas, or applesauce IN MODERATION.
  3. Replace my favorite breakfast cereal with whole grains.  
  4. I’ve asked my husband not to bring any sugary sweets into the house 🙂 He’s agreed!
  5. When a sugar craving comes eat fresh or dried fruit. I read somewhere that it can be helpful to eat a handful of almonds with the fruit to help fill yourself up and avoid overeating, so I’ll give that a try too.
  6. Because this helped me in the past… enjoy a small square of dark chocolate in the evening if absolutely necessary and don’t stress about it.
  7. Take measurements before starting and progress pictures each week.
  8. Keep track of everything I’m eating in a food journal. This will include one cheat item per week ONLY if it’s necessary and only one cup of coffee per week with non-dairy milk and one teaspoon of SUCANAT or turbinado sugar.

And just for good measure – I have a few rules that I need to get in writing so I can hold myself accountable

  1. NO DAIRY – no cheese, no milk, no sour cream, etc.
  2. Drink more water, 2 – 3 Liters per day

I realize that this may sound extreme but I have had short-term success when I’ve created my own rules  in the past and I believe my long-term struggle has been due to not holding myself accountable and not speaking with the man about keeping sweets out of the house.

So who’s with me?  I’d love to have some company on this journey and will open up the Wheatgrass & Sassafras Facebook page to discussions about everyone’s achievements and challenges, this will help us stay honest and get some much needed support on days when we just don’t feel like we can stay strong.

If you want to be a quitter with me follow these easy steps

  1. Comment on this blog thread that you are going to be participating.
  2. Create realistic rules that will help you achieve your goals.
  3. Pick a quit date and set yourself up for success by planning to remove sugar from your home and loading up your fridge and cupboards with lots of healthy snack. My quit date is Sunday, March 11th.
  4. Read every label, if there is sugar in the product put it back on the shelf.
  5. Prepare yourself mentally for feeling some unpleasant effects as your body detoxes from sugar, you may experience headaches or irritability but I promise it will only be temporary and the benefits far outweigh the unpleasant feelings. You can help the detox process by drinking lots and lots of water.

If anyone has successfully giving up sugar I’d love to hear from you. What has you journey been like? How do you feel when you are not consuming refined sugar? What tips would you give someone trying to get off the white stuff?

Best of luck to all to those of you who are going to be quitters with me 🙂

And as always…

~ Happy & Healthy Eating

3 Responses to “I QUIT!”

  1. iwishiwerevegan March 7, 2012 at 1:07 AM #

    Alright, that’s it! I’ve been trying to limit my sugar intake, but maybe I just need to kick it altogether, as I keep “relapsing.” My only exceptions: my Quaker instant oatmeal (unless I find a different, quick, cheap substitute) and the occasional chai tea. My start date will be much later than yours to account for spring break, but I’ll be right there with you on March 26th. Please share any easy recipes or other advice along the way, as I’m sure I’ll need them!

    Also, don’t be tricked sucrose, fructose, dextrose, HFCS, and all those other guys. Best of luck.

    • Wheatgrass & Sassafras March 10, 2012 at 6:19 PM #

      I’m so excited to have you take the challenge with me, March 26th gives you plenty of time to prepare mentally and to find some recipes for breakfast. If I’m not mistaken the plain version of the instant oatmeal only has oats and salt. Have you ever tried making chai tea at home? That way you could control the sugar content.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. No Sugar – Oh Goodness. | i wish i were vegan - March 28, 2012

    […] by Wheat Grass & Sassafras’ post, I’ve decided to do a trial no-sugar period.  I gave myself plenty of advanced notice (I decided […]

Leave a Reply

