Just Like Thanksgiving

12 Mar

Several months ago I purchased Thrive Foods by Brendan Brazier. It is a companion cookbook in the Thrive series.  Unfortunately I haven’t read the book yet because it was hiding in my husband’s bag for the last five months but I have perused the recipes. Originally I didn’t think I would actually make any of the recipes because they didn’t really appeal to me (Young Coconut Soup, Sacha Inchi Milk, Superfood Gomashio) but I have been drooling over photos on Thrive Foods Direct   so I decided it was time to pony up and start cooking.

Last week I made the Roasted Garlic Quinoa. My husband (who doesn’t really care for quinoa) says it is his favorite quinoa dish! It  was very yummy… but, not worth photographing 😉

Roasted Garlic Quinoa (adapted from Thrive Foods)
1 whole head garlic
2 Tbsp melted coconut oil
1 tsp lemon juice
2 cups cooked quinoa
½ tsp sea salt, or to taste
Pinch dried thyme leaves, for garnish

Slice off the top of the head of garlic and place in foil. Roast at 400 degrees for 30-45 minutes or until softened. Allow garlic to cool.
Squeeze the roasted garlic out of the peel and into a small bowl along with coconut oil and lemon juice, mix well. Heat sauce over low heat.
Add the cooked quinoa and salt, stirring to combine. Heat through thoroughly and garnish with thyme before serving.

If you’ve never roasted garlic before YOU MUST! It is so delicious and versatile. You can eat the cloves whole, spread it on bread, blend into salad dressing, create a garlic hummus dip, or even  add it to soup. Roasting the garlic mellows the flavor and creates a creamy richness that is irresistible.

This week I made the Wild Rice with Kabocha Squash and Sage Butter. It was to die for! The combination of hardy wild rice, sweet squash, and savory sage butter reminded me of thanksgiving. In fact, I think I will serve it with home-made cranberry sauce and green bean casserole next time I make it.

While this recipe calls for Kabocha Squash

I used Acorn Squash because that is what I found at the grocery store.

I think you could probably  substitute any firm winter squash and have great success

Rice Pilaf with Acorn Squash and Sage Butter (adapted from Thrive Foods)

1lb acorn squash
1 cup rice pilaf
2 cups water
3 Tbsp melted coconut oil
½ Tbsp chopped fresh sage, packed
1 Tbsp mined onion or shallot
½ tsp salt

  1. Preheat oven to 400ᵒF
  2. Cut squash in half, discard seeds, and place face down on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper. Bake for 40-45 minutes or until tender. Allow to cool then cut into chunks.
  3. While squash is roasting prepare rice by combining it with water in a saucepan. Bring to a boil then reduce to a simmer, uncovered for approximately 45 minutes.
  4. In a food processor (or coffee grinder) blend coconut oil, sage, onion, and salt until smooth.
  5. Heat sage butter over low heat then combine with rice.
  6. Fold in squash and serve warm.

Note: I used a whole grain rice pilaf blend that I found in the bulk aisle of Whole Foods, if you cannot find a suitable rice pilaf combine ½ cup wild rice and ½ cup brown rice and cook as directed above.

According to Vegetarian Times winter squash is nutrient-packed full of beta-carotene, vitamin C and potassium. Winter squash is also known to be low in calories, and according to Thrive Food, squash is the most nutrient-dense form of starch-based food, making it ideal for those looking to build muscles.

So there you have it, one meal to  comfort you like Thanksgiving, satisfy even the pickiest eaters, and help build your muscles. What more could you want from a recipe? I suggest you make this one right away.

~ Happy & Healthy Eating

Leave a Reply

